New Guy Checking in.

Post pictures and tell us all about the critters you harvested with your Thumper.

Moderator: MudBug

New Guy Checking in.

Postby ncwg2boatguy » Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:05 am

Hey folks I am new to the 450 BM but love it so far and look forward to picking your brains about it. Anyone have any hunting cartridge recommendations? Hornady seems to have cornered the market with the 250gr Leverlution.

Thanks,

Jim Clarke
Jim Clarke
CMC USN Retired, 27yrs
Seabee's CAN DO!!
ncwg2boatguy

Re: New Guy Checking in.

Postby commander faschisto » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:54 pm

Greetings!...welcome to the electronic campfire. If you want to use factory fodder, there are currently only two choices, the Hornady 250gr FTX and the Remmy 260gr Accu-tip loads. Either one will do quite nicely for anything on this continent, at normal shooting ranges. The 450b got the nickname "Thumper" for a very good reason! Many tales of "bang-flop" engagements with the furry friends. Its an amazing gun/caliber, as you will come to find out soon, sounds like. Have fun!

EDIT: Forgot to mention that Remmy is (supposedly) soon to come out with a 275gr "Hog Hammer" loading, with a Barnes XPB at the pointy end. Should be a good hammer for just about anything, for that matter.
Isa Akhbar!
NRA Life Member
Oklahoma Rifle Association member

Heavily armed; easily pissed.
commander faschisto

Postby ncwg2boatguy » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:34 am

Thanks for the info Brother. Going shooting Saturday morning. Turkey season here in Va. HeHe...450BM would surely make a mess of a turkey. Not to worry. My 1100 will be with me.

Jimbo
Jim Clarke
CMC USN Retired, 27yrs
Seabee's CAN DO!!
ncwg2boatguy

Postby Texas Sheepdawg » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:56 am

Welcome to our electronic campfire! Hey commander, throw on a few more hotdogs!
-Texas Sheepdawg

http://youtube.com/c/TexasSheepdawg21
NRA Life Member
Texas Sheepdawg

Postby wildcatter » Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:01 pm