First BM 450 kill

Post pictures and tell us all about the critters you harvested with your Thumper.

Moderator: MudBug

Re: First BM 450 kill

Postby texrider » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:49 pm

Nice one! Did the shoulder shot make it thru, or any bullet recovery?
User avatar
texrider
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Central Texas

Re: First BM 450 kill

Postby DennisR » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:55 am

The shoulder wound in the pic is the exit - the entrance was in a similar spot on the opposite side. Bullet was not recovered. Had I realized that both shoulders were broken, I would not have put a second shot in the neck, but rather in the boiler room. But I wasn't sure, and all I could see was head and neck above the grass where he was laying when I followed him.

I took this one to a processor - didn't cut it up myself. Meat I got back was about 20 lb light, for the size of the buck. I figure I must have lost a lot of meat on the shoulders.

Forgot to mention - shot was only about 75 yards. I thought it was odd that the shoulder shot didn't hit lungs, but I guess lungs don't come as far forward as I thought they did.
DennisR
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:02 am

Re: First BM 450 kill

Postby MOUNTIN DU » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:42 pm

:shock: very nice buck... congrats on the kill :)
hunt when it's cold; fish when it's not.
South Louisiana IS the sportsman's paradise!
MOUNTIN DU
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:11 am
Location: South Louisiana; still the land of the FREE!

Re: First BM 450 kill

Postby mwalters » Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:54 am

Nice! I can't wait to use my Bushy in the Michigan "shotgun" zone!
mwalters
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 11:49 am

Re: First BM 450 kill

Postby bullnose » Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:52 pm

Here's to wishing you a repeat performance this November 15th!
Never give the devil a ride, 'cuz pretty soon he'll want to drive.
User avatar
bullnose
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 5:41 pm
Location: Corncob (Clinton) County, Michigan

Re: First BM 450 kill

Postby bushmeister » Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:22 pm

Nice!
User avatar
bushmeister
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:10 pm
Location: Georgia

Previous

Return to The Trophy Wall

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest