Deer # 2 & 3 Taken with Thumper

Post pictures and tell us all about the critters you harvested with your Thumper.

Moderator: MudBug

Deer # 2 & 3 Taken with Thumper

Postby nickdeannow » Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:22 am

This year has been pretty slow on my Indiana farm, but I did take a couple does with the thumper. (The fam has gotta eat and my kids are convinced that without venison, tacos, sloppy joes, and spaghetti would not be possible.)
The bright side of this season for me was that my rifle performed as well when it counted as it did when I was showing off at the range.
This year, based on this forum's data (yes data... I'm an engineer and anecdotal crap don't cut it...You guys ROCK) I switched to Barnes 200 grain XPBs, pushed by 40 grains of Lil'Gun.
My first doe was broadside at 120 yds. After the shot I heard the bullet ricochet into the distance and the deer ran off. I thought I missed for sure. I watched the deer run off in my binoculars about 150 yds before it slowed to a drunken swagger and fell. (No bang flop...Again) Turns out I hit it exactly where I wanted to and the shot happened so fast I didn't even have time to dial up my Nikon Buckmaster from it's lowest setting of 4.5x.