First kill w/.450

Post pictures and tell us all about the critters you harvested with your Thumper.

Moderator: MudBug

First kill w/.450

Postby 4wheeling79 » Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:08 pm

Hi i am new to this sight i picked up me up a BM .450 about 8 months ago for hog hunting but i hadn't really messed with it until the last couple of weeks. And as it's turned out to be a real good shooter.
I set out on opening morning just hoping to see a deer of any kind (first year on this lease hadn't seen any shooters) I just new i would see hogs as we are covered in them here in East Texas. As i'm setting in my stand i start seeing doe after doe come thru still not expecting any decent bucks to come out. And then to my suprise this guy comes out of no where and in that instant a 100 things go thru my mind and i can tell he is not going to hang around and he is not giving me the shot i want. Then he puts his head back down and he is off so i take the shot i have and landed one high over his left sholder angled thur his body. He dropped there in his track never moved another inch.
That 250gr FTX Hornady round entered high in his sholder shatering bone that shot out that same sholder like glass then hit his spin shatering it into then smased 3 ribs. While at the same time took out both lugs, hart, and sent bone and bullet frags thur his stomach and other internals. This round did major major damage he was very hard for me to clean and skin out! But it was an awsome opening day!!
Attachments
deer3.jpg
deer3.jpg (87.52 KiB) Viewed 11795 times
deer4.jpg
deer4.jpg (86.66 KiB) Viewed 11795 times
4wheeling79

Re: First kill w/.450

Postby wildcatter » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:40 pm

WOW!!! That one nice buck you got there!!!

But first, welcome to the Electronic Camp Fire, nicest bunch this side of, well, anywhere. And if we can get the Hoot-ster off the couch and dry his widow-eyes, it's his turn at fix'en up the bacon and beans..