Complete AR Newb

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

Complete AR Newb

Postby ColoradoKid » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:54 am

Though I'm definitely no newb to shooting, I reluctantly announce that I am a complete novice when it comes to the AR platform. That being said... just ordered a complete factory 20" 450B kit (upper & lower). Decided on the complete kit considering this will be my first run-in with an AR style rifle.

Can't wait for the rifle to get here, but now that it's on it's way to my FFL dealer I have to finish ordering some goodys so that I can have some fun when it gets here.

Things that I know I still need (please feel free to let me know if I'm missing something):
-Scope or sight: have my eye on the Leupold VXR Patrol 3-9x40. Anyone have any thoughts/experience with this scope?
-Scope mount: have my eye on the Leupold Mark 4 AR mount, but not quite sure if will give me enough lift off the rifle for proper eye relief. Completely open to suggestions when it comes to a decent mount.
-Ammo: Factory Hornady 250gr... Lots of it. Will get into reloading eventually, but for now it's factory for this guy.

Rifle will be used primarily for hunting deer/elk at 200 yards and under, though I do visit the range frequently and wouldn't mind stretching it out to 300 on some paper.

Looks like a great lil community here and am super stoked to finally be a part of it!
ColoradoKid

Re: Complete AR Newb

Postby MudBug » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:58 am

Welcome to the forum.

I have no experience with that scope or mount but I can say that the factory ammo is one of the best things about the 450b.

Hopefully you will get some better answers about the scope here soon.
Eric

"A coward is much more disposed to quarrels than a man of spirit." - Thomas Jefferson

"War is less costly than servitude. The choice is always between Verdun and Dachau." - Jean Dutourd
MudBug
Site Admin

Postby bigboreshooter » Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:41 pm