Cleaning the Thumper

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

Cleaning the Thumper

Postby ColoradoKid » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:03 am

Just wanted some opinions on proper care of the 450 and what all is involved. As you all know, I am an AR novice so any and all advice is appreciated.

My assumption is that you clean it just like any other semi auto rifle, but with a 45 cal brush and jag with patches, but how often should it be cleaned and how in the heck do you clean the gas tube? Seems a little more complex than my bolt actions lol.

CoKid
ColoradoKid

Re: Cleaning the Thumper

Postby Wicked Hunter » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:08 pm

I use break cleaner down the gass tube. It's not necesary every time you clean it, but it also wont hurt it.
Wicked Hunter

Postby 9x19MdM » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:10 pm

There's also a brush that's made for it.
9x19MdM

Postby MarkCO » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:50 pm

Most of us "Gun" folk are either mechanically inclined or OCD...that leads to a LOT of extra cleaning.

For my ARs...once every 1000 rounds, Gunslick Foam goes down the bore and the gas tube. It sits for 1/2 hour. The BCG gets disassembled and put in the Ultra-Sonic for 20 minutes. Then the gas tube and inside the upper gets a shot of brake parts cleaner and a shot of compressed air. The bore gets 2 dry patches and then re-lube and shoot 1000 more rounds. Actual time per 1K rounds, maybe 10 minutes of actual time working.
MarkCO

Postby commander faschisto » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:02 pm

Yep, don't overdo it, especially if you have a chromed chamber and bore. What is described above is probably about right, especially since 450b shooters are unlikely to be putting thousands of rounds down the tube in a short period of time, like a lot of 556/223 get used.

That gas tube brush looks interesting...I may have to try one of those.
Isa Akhbar!
NRA Life Member
Oklahoma Rifle Association member

Heavily armed; easily pissed.
commander faschisto