Top 5 out of the box modifications

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

Top 5 out of the box modifications

Postby hip wader » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:11 pm

Hello All. been lurking in the shadows reading the board and researching for my first AR purchase. Ended up going with the thumper after lots of back and forth. It finally arrived last night and I am anxious to get some rounds through it. As an AR newbie I am curious what some of you more experienced guys would say are the top three or five mods/changes/additions you have made to your 450 right out of the box. I know this is subjective and everyone will want to set up their gun depending on what they plan to use it for, I am talking about "Must do" things that you start with. I know to begin I am going to take of that A2 stock, for some reason I don't like the way it fits my body. Where would you recommend I go from there?

Thanks for all the info you guys have put together on this board. I've learned a ton already.

-w
hip wader

Re: Top 5 out of the box modifications

Postby bigboreshooter » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:54 pm

Wolf heavy spring, hydraulic buffer, magazine feeding, I like magpul furniture.
Three is two, two is one and one is none.
bigboreshooter

Postby kottke_35 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:59 pm

Welcome to the campfire.

As you said, everybody had their own preference when it comes to modifications. I for one can not stand the factory grip and trigger guard. That's the only thing that has been changed on my gun. It shoots so good without any mods. Two of the biggest things you will probably see done here is a new stock (RECOILLESS) and a muzzle brake from Ross. Neither of which are necessary but help to make a more enjoyable shooting session. I just slip on a winchester (limbsaver) from walmart recoil pad if I'm going to shoot it a bunch. I may eventually change the trigger but I use mine for more hunting than shooting and I can't complain too much.