New in VA

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

New in VA

Postby the_mad_rshn » Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:22 pm

Hello gents,

I am new to the AR concept. My first AR is a home-built-from-scratch 6.5 Grendel which I finished about a month and a half ago. I like the rifle a lot and I started to think of getting its big brother - 50 Beowulf. Unfortunately the barrels are not sold separately and I do want to build another one from scratch since I already had most of the parts ready including a stripped upper receiver. So finally I settled on the Thumper. I did a research and actually now I like it way better than the 50B. I am planning to use my own bullets. I have several molds for long colt and the 45-70 that I am planning to size and use in my soon to be gun. I just ordered the barrel/bolt from MGI (spelling), mid length YHM handguard. I will be sharing the lower with the 6.5 Grendel for now. The upper for this build is YHM flat-top. I am planning to use a low power scout scope setup for hunting as well as removable open sights for plinking. I already ordered 4 boxes of ammo. I am a Lee guy and it is unfortunate for me there is no die set from these guys. I also called and they said there are no plans to make 'em. I guess I will have to go with H-dy die set. I do not want to shell out 150 bucks for a custom Lee's set. I know I will need to enlarge the ejection port and I also plan on customizing existing .223 mags for feeding my new baby.
I found lots of useful information here. Thanks a lot to all for contributing.

Cheers,
Mad
Cheers,
Mad
the_mad_rshn

Re: New in VA

Postby MudBug » Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:14 pm

Welcome.

As I read that you were gonna build your own I thought "Ok, we will need to point out all the things he needs to be aware of, like the ejection port", but then I finished reading and realized that nope, you have it all covered.

We have several cast bullet guys here that can share what they have learned.