foward assist / slick side

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

foward assist / slick side

Postby kenn1320 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:15 am

Im looking around at uppers and as a hunter first and foremost, I want the ability to slide one in the chamber quietly. That steered me away from Bartz, a local company with great products. Well I just noticed mega has uppers that appear to have a slot along the ejection port. Does somebody make a bolt with a "handle" so you dont need the rear charge handle? Would this allow you to feed a round in quietly without a forward assist?

http://www.megaarms.com/ar-15/upper-receivers/billet-uppers/sbu-billet-upper-with-ch-slot/

While we are talking about uppers, are they all compatible with the 450b? Is the bolt sizing mil-spec or are do I have to pick and choose the upper based on a certain companies bolt? Sorry if my nomenclature is off, Im new to AR's. My past gun experience has been load it and shoot it, clean and repeat. Never got into ordering individual parts and needing to know their name.
kenn1320

Re: foward assist / slick side

Postby Pig_Popper » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:15 pm

This is but one option for the bolt carrier you're seeking

https://eisenacharms.com/collections/ar-products/products/right-side-charge-bolt-carrier

In theory you'd be able to ride the bolt home (into full battery) with more control with the type of carrier but audibly speaking the pigs and deer I've been close to can hear me switch the safety on my gun which is quieter than cambering a round by riding the bolt home.

I own the Mega upper receiver and it is already good to go for big bore rounds, it's a quality piece of work.

The only non-spec bolts that get a lot of play is Harrison Beene's 800 series bolt and some of his other designs otherwise you'll be fine with a standard AR15 carrier and bushmaster bolt.

What barrel are you going with?
I Smell Bacon
Pig_Popper

Postby kenn1320 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:00 pm