New to 450BM - Been reading for 4 hours on magazines

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

New to 450BM - Been reading for 4 hours on magazines

Postby engineer40 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:10 am

Hello all. I'm new to the 450 Bushmaster. I got a 16 inch upper from Midway a couple months ago. So far I have fired only 1 box of factory ammo through it, and so far that first box cycled flawless. Which is nice.

So for a new 450 BM owner like myself, who currently only owns 1 5 round factory magazine, what would you seasoned guys suggest for some extra magazines? I've been reading for hours and seems like I'm going in circles. Many of the posts are older, some are talking about magazines that are no longer available, and there seems to be a lot of frustration.

Most of my 223 magazines are Pmags. But I do have 1 D&H Tactical metal 30 round magazine. Just out of curiosity I loaded 10 rounds of 450 BM into it (with the 223 follower). The feed lips held all of the ammo in the magazine without pushing them out. I hand cycled the rifle using that magazine and they actually all fed and ejected fine. Do you think my first attempt at a higher round count should be to purchase a single load follower and try it with my D&H Tactical magazine I already have?

I don't mind spending more money on magazines if they are known to work consistently.

Thanks!
engineer40

Re: New to 450BM - Been reading for 4 hours on magazines

Postby Hoot » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:11 am

engineer40 wrote:Hello all. I'm new to the 450 Bushmaster. I got a 16 inch upper from Midway a couple months ago. So far I have fired only 1 box of factory ammo through it, and so far that first box cycled flawless. Which is nice.