Front gas block canted - Range update p3

Talk about the AR15 style rifles chambered in 450 Bushmaster.

Moderator: MudBug

Front gas block canted - Range update p3

Postby teamja2 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:29 pm

Just got my new 16" thumper upper assembly and looking at it the front gas block is noticeably canted right compared to the rail on the upper receiver. Sent an email to bushmaster to see what the next steps are. Slightly frustrated because I want iron sights on this rifle and don't want to try adjusting myself on something unfired.
Last edited by teamja2 on Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
teamja2

Re: Front gas block canted

Postby commander faschisto » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:18 pm

I'm just an AR newbie here, but I definitely would not fire it just yet...it will probably short stroke on ya, because chances are that the barrel vent hole is not aligned with the gas block hole, eh. There are supposed to be dimples in the barrel to align the setscrews, so the fix is probably (???) realtively simple. Then again, some of those things were assembled with loctite, taper fit, etc., who knows?

Hey, guys, can ya hook a brother up here? :?:
Isa Akhbar!
NRA Life Member
Oklahoma Rifle Association member

Heavily armed; easily pissed.
commander faschisto

Postby Texas Sheepdawg » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:31 pm

I've heard of one or two of these cases. The Gurus will be checking in Directly. But CF I believe is right especially about waiting to fire it until you get the gas block realigned. I also think that there is some type of index. I can't give any reason why it Canted, it's very painful to think Bushmaster employees dropped the ball here, it could have just sneaked past QC. I would be on the phone with them immediately and I would not discuss my issue with anyone but a manager. Do NOT talk the the CSR guy named Aaron. He's a first class jer..... Uh, rookie.
But don't sweat it too much. It's a very easy fix and shouldn't have to go back.
Check your PM.