Please Help! Savage 450 build.

I know of one so far, let's see if more show up.

Moderator: MudBug

Please Help! Savage 450 build.

Postby 8ballcustomz » Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:13 pm

Hey guys I'm no stranger to the 450 cartridge and the loads of fun it can be, I have 30+ AR builds under my belt. However I am new to the bolt gun builds and I think I screwed up pretty good. Picked up a Savage 110 in 243 for my donor action. The first, and probably the last Savage in my safe among dozens of 700's. Didn't realize until I got home and did some research that I have a SA stagger feed on my hands. If I load the mag with 450 rounds they just pop back out. Is there a way to convert to center feed or am I up the creek without a paddle? Already purchased my barrel also.
8ballcustomz

Re: Please Help! Savage 450 build.

Postby Hoot » Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:59 pm

Have you asked over on the Savage Shooters forum? Like here, they're an affable and helpful group of guys. A quick FAQ I looked at says that some configuration will support the .284 Winchester, so one would suspect it would also handle the 450b. Try asking over there in the 110 sub-forum. They have a plethora of FAQs as well.

Hoot

EDIT: OK, you made me look. I have several stagger feed Model 12's. One is for .308 parent cartridges, such as the .243, .260, 7mm-08 etc. It loads and retains factory fresh 450b rounds just fine. You sure you don't already have a center feed? I can't speak for them, as mine are all blind stagger feeds. Love them dearly. Barrel swap, caliber change with just a wrench and a set of go gauges in under an hour. Also, that is not the low end Axis model right?
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot

Postby 8ballcustomz » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:16 pm