Barnes MZ bullets

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Barnes MZ bullets

Postby Caseknife » Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:50 pm

Hi guys, I'm new to the 450 and this forum, but have been gleening a bunch of good info. I was just wondering if anyone has tried loading the different Barnes MZ bullets. Looking at the data their respective BC's are much better than the FTX and the XPB bullets. The 50 cal MZ bullets w/o the sabot are .451". Any thoughts?
If guns kill people, then...
Pencils miss spel words
Cars make people drive drunk
Spoons make Rosie O'Donnell fat
Caseknife

Re: Barnes MZ bullets

Postby Hoot » Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:44 pm

At the Barnes web page, the 250 and 300gr .451 MZ bullets have lower BCs than the Hornady FTX style of equivalent weight. I take BCs that bullet manufacturers claim with the same grain of salt as the velocity that ammunition manufacturers say their ammunition reaches. Looks like the Tipped MZ are more close to the FTX in BC.

Versus

and the Hornady FTX bullets are .452 which while only a mil wider, do have the potential for better neck tension and will ride the bore a little tighter.

Obviously, the FTX/SST are not lead free, which is required in some areas as well as nice when you don't enjoy eating lead fragments in your venison.

Everything's a compromise...

Hoot
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot

Postby Caseknife » Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:15 am