Reloading the 460 S&W

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Reloading the 460 S&W

Postby Sackett1013 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:14 pm

Hello to everyone this is my first post. I am new to both the 450 bushmaster and reloading. I am very excited to get started, but i have a question. My friend just bought a 460S&W and is also just getting into reloading, we were looking at both rounds and there doesn't seem to be very much of a differeance between them. So the question, does anyone know if the dies are the same? Could you reload the 450 with the 460 dies and or the other way?
Thanks.
Sackett1013

Re: Reloading the 460 S&W

Postby Atomicdog » Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:15 pm

Welcome to the group and welcome to the wonderful world of the 450 Bushmaster. You're sure to fall in love with it. To answer your question directly - No. The 450 Bushmaster and the 460 S&W reloading dies are NOT interchangeable. One should never attempt to load ammunition with dies not made specifically for that ammo type. though the bullets are the same in diameter (.452), that's about where the similarities end between the two.

Facts on the 460S&W(Hornady load data):
http://www.hornady.com/assets/files/ftx ... um_ftx.pdf

Facts on the 450 Bushmaster can be found here (Hornady load data):
http://www.hornady.com/assets/files/ftx ... er_ftx.pdf

welcome again and enjoy!
Atomicdog

Postby Sackett1013 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:45 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. I was pretty sure that was the case but i wanted to make sure. I am excited to start loading and hunting with the 450.
Sackett1013

Postby Mike » Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:30 pm

Not so fast......
I use a modified 45-70 set of dies. All is not what it seems.