My head is swimming

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

My head is swimming

Postby longnkrnch » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:53 am

I have been reloading for about 20 years. I have loaded various bottleneck rifle rounds and several calibers of handgun ammo. Have always had pretty good results and it has always seemed "easy". Now I am getting set up to load the 450, and I must say, based on all the things I've read on this site, this is the first time I've felt a little intimidated. How to crimp, where to crimp, how deep to crimp, bullet depths, bullet sizes, cannilure, no cannilures, the list goes on. I think my brain is now fully scrambled.
longnkrnch

Re: My head is swimming

Postby commander faschisto » Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:29 am

I've just started with the 450b reloading process myself, and I think the essential lesson from all the variations people have posted on the site here is that it is vital that there be enough neck tension on the boolit to really get the powder charge cooking before it launches down the barrel. What might seem overwhelming is that there has been a lot of discussion about what method of neck tensioning works best with which bullet design and weight and powder combination. Just start with the idea that the 450b works best when, using whatever method, the case hangs on to the bullet as long as possible. I hope that helps a bit? :)
Isa Akhbar!
NRA Life Member
Oklahoma Rifle Association member

Heavily armed; easily pissed.
commander faschisto

Postby longnkrnch » Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:27 am

Thanks, I think you are right. Neck tension should be the key. But, based on what I have seen on the factory rounds, there ain't a whole lot of tension there. I think I'll start by just following the Hornady data and move on from there.