First loads really sucked

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

First loads really sucked

Postby longnkrnch » Tue Sep 04, 2012 5:31 pm

Shot my first loads this weekend. 6ea at 37.5 grns lil gun, and 6ea of 38 grns. 240 grn XTP mags, 2.06 col .474 taper crimp. Both loads gave about 3.5" groups at 7" above factory round poi. Really sucked. Not sure where to go from here. I studied and studied and loaded them based on every thing I learned. Guess it's back to the drawing board.
longnkrnch

Re: First loads really sucked

Postby Hoot » Tue Sep 04, 2012 5:54 pm

longnkrnch wrote:Shot my first loads this weekend. 6ea at 37.5 grns lil gun, and 6ea of 38 grns. 240 grn XTP mags, 2.06 col .474 taper crimp. Both loads gave about 3.5" groups at 7" above factory round poi. Really sucked. Not sure where to go from here. I studied and studied and loaded them based on every thing I learned. Guess it's back to the drawing board.

That's not much of a sample base to develop despair over. ;)

Not to invite the ire of the XTP Mag enthusiasts upon me, but that bullet has not been inherently accurate for me either, especially compared to the three FTX weights. For me, a good 240 XTP Mag group was more the exception than the rule. Don't be discouraged. That's the joy of discovery.

There's a second part to that expression that "Experience is the Best Teacher". It's also the "Most Expensive".

Pick up a box of 225gr FTX. They cost the same as the 240gr XTP Mags. They'll shoot the pants off of the 240gr XTP Mag using the same 38gr charge of Lil Gun. Great for building your confidence and a feel for what to expect from the rifle.

Hoot
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot