Erratic Ignition with Heavy Bullets???

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Erratic Ignition with Heavy Bullets???

Postby randyf » Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:44 am

Just for kicks and giggles I loaded up some Cast Performance 395 gr. hard cast gas checked bullets.

I used 30 grains of Accurate 1680.

On my first shot I had a huge fireball, sounded funny, and my friend said you could almost watch the bullet going downrange.
My 2nd, and 3rd shot sounded better with little muzzle flash.
My 4th shot was like the first, and the 5th shot was like the 2nd and 3rd.

What would cause such a difference in the muzzle flash, and velocity.

I don't have a chroney, but could tell by the sound there was a difference in the shots.
I have been reloading for 30 years and measured the powder with a scale on each load.

I also loaded up some 350 gr Hornady jacket soft points at the same time using the same load and they all shot fine.
randyf

Re: Erratic Ignition with Heavy Bullets???

Postby commander faschisto » Sat Sep 21, 2013 2:07 pm

I'm not one of the reloading experts here, by any means, but it sounds like you've got too much empty space in the case with only 30 grains in there (?)...that's usually what gets weird things going like you described. If I remember correctly, the recommendation is to have the case filled at least 90% to get consistent ignition.

The "loose fill" problem is actually quite dangerous, because ignition can become detonation...with unpredictable unpleasant results. :(