Recommend dies for reloading 450 on a Dillon 650XL

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Recommend dies for reloading 450 on a Dillon 650XL

Postby mcb » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:39 am

New member her. Glad I found this forum. I have a 20-inch 450 Bushmaster upper kit on the way. I have a lower that is nearly ready to go too. I have a bunch of once fired brass I got off a buddy and want to be ready to load up some ammo for the new gun once I finish it.

I have a Dillon 650XL Reloading press that I have loaded many thousand of rounds of a variety of pistol cartridges on. I see Dillon sells a 450 Bushmaster Conversion Kit (shell plate, locator buttons, powder funnel, etc) but they do not currently sell Dillon branded 450 Bushmaster dies. So I was hoping you guys could recommend a good set of dies, especially dies that work well with a progress 650XL press.

I was also wonder about case prep. It been awhile since I loaded rifle cartridges. I remember a lot of lub, setup, trimming, neck expanders etc with bottle neck rifle cartridges. With my pistol loading I have always just cleaned the brass in my tumbler with a little liquid Turtle Wax mixed in with the media. The brass come out shiny, clean, and slick. Combine that with a Dillon carbide sizing die I have never had to use any lubrication to size pistol cartridges. I also never trim my pistol brass to length. Will that trick work with 450 Bushmaster? Seem plausible since its a nearly straight wall cartridge that looks more like a over grown pistol cartridge than a rifle cartridge. Any tips, trick and advice her would be appreciated!
mcb

Re: Recommend dies for reloading 450 on a Dillon 650XL

Postby mcb » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:38 pm