Reload save money

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Reload save money

Postby mossy89 » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:16 pm

So I don't know anything about reloading, I've been reading a little bit and I'm curious at about how much money you save on average by reloading. I'm thinking about buying the new handbook from Hornady and maybe reading into it and buying the tools required to do it. I really don't know what I need or equipment, so all of you experienced reloaders out there, your comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks.
mossy89

Re: Reload save money

Postby Hoot » Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:03 pm

I've been reloading for 30 years. For the equipment I've bought and the amount I shoot, I have not broken even yet. With 6 months of winter here, it has saved my sanity many times over though and it does give me the ability to experiment. If you don't get pleasure conducting scientific endeavors, then you're back to "just for the money".

Hoot
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot

Postby pitted bore » Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:06 pm

mossy89 wrote:So I don't know anything about reloading, I've been reading a little bit and I'm curious at about how much money you save on average by reloading.

mossy89-
A truism among reloaders is that you will save no money with reloading. Instead, you'll spend the same amount of money, or likely more, and increase the amount of shooting that you do. More bang, same bucks.

It is easy to do the calculations to find that you will have to reload several hundred rounds to save the cost of purchasing the equipment. In doing the financial calculations, you will have to decide whether your time is worth anything, and if so, how much.