New to reloading 450BM

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

New to reloading 450BM

Postby BobbyJ » Sat Feb 01, 2020 6:41 pm

I am getting ready to reload for the 450BM, I am new to reloading and have only run 9mm pistol ammo through the new press.

I purchased a Hornady Die set and of course was totally confused on the directions and why they put two crimpers in the box along with a mystery extra part.

(Right click and choose View image to see full width)

Have some H110 for powder and a bunch of different types of bullets. Not pictured have some 245gr Hornady interlocks too.

I plan to run it as
1. Station one Hornady deprime and resize
2. Station 2 Dillon powder drop (and case bell/flare) is adjustable from 0 to lots of flare
3. Station 3 Dillon Powder check (not really needed)
4. Station 4 Bullet seating. Will not use the built in dual function roll crimper
5. Station 5 Case taper crimp (the 4th die not in the directions) its a die with holes at both ends

Remington 71/2 small rifle primers

Even if you used that built in roll crimper when seating bullets I don't think it has enough crimp leverage to do anything to the case rim. I read someone tried it and could not even get it under .477" which is easy on the case taper crimp. The case rim would have to be right in the middle of one of the bullet grooves and you would visibly see that its indented.

I going to worry more about maintaining a 90 percent or so case fill than on OAL and distance to lands (so long as its not hitting them)
The 450BM has like .200-.250" to lands on my bolt guns (hornady stock ammo) the bear creeks are over 2.5" and still .60" off the lands.