450 problem

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

450 problem

Postby bash » Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:15 pm

Yet another newbie with his 450 today. I'm not new to reloading, but I am new to the 450 game. I figure someone here will be able to tell me what I'm doing wrong. Today I loaded up some (10) rounds for the first shots using hard cast bullets.

New Hornady cases 1.69"
Winchester small rifle primers
W296 Powder....32grns.
250 gr RNFP sized .452
OAL 2.04

I think this load is running around 1800 FPS

Here is the problem........

I pull back the bolt and let the first round slam in. Pull the trigger...BAM!
Pull the trigger again and ...click! No bang! Pull the charging handle back and it won't move! Take out the mag and tap the charging with a small piece of wood to move it just a little to "unstick" it. Pull the handle back and the round extracts. Out of ten rounds this happens 40% of the time. What am I doing wrong? What am I overlooking? I see nothing out of the ordinary looking at the expelled rounds.

Ideas?

Thanks,

Bash
Last edited by bash on Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
bash

Re: 450 problem

Postby Hoot » Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:58 pm

Did you lube the bullets?
Gas Checks?

I don't do cast boolits, but there are those here that do and I'm sure they will chime in.

Hoot
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot

Postby Texas Sheepdawg » Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:08 pm

I have heard some here are using cast bullets with some success, and I have been considering a cast bullet with gas checks, but just waiting to find the best solution.
Welcome to our electronic campfire!
-Texas Sheepdawg

http://youtube.com/c/TexasSheepdawg21
NRA Life Member
Texas Sheepdawg