Split cases

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Split cases

Postby TacoTaco » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:57 pm

So heres the deal- I worked up a load that my carbine seems to love: 38.0gr LiL Gun, Hornady once fired brass, CCI 400's, 250gr FTX, 2.235 COAL. Shoots .7-.9" groups routinely. Problem is, I seem to be splitting cases. Not badly, but I've noticed a small hairline fracture running about 3/4" of the length of the case on several cases. Anybody else have this issue? I picked up a couple of pounds of Win296 today, after hearing that its slightly slower burning and should help with pressure issues. Any advice would be appreciated. I've been reloading .223 and .308 for years now, but I'm new to the big bore stuff.
TacoTaco

Re: Split cases

Postby Mike » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:09 pm

Now, I have zero experience reloaidng the 450, but annealing cases has always been a "stitch in time" when it comes to keeping brass around longer.

Is it splitting around the neck? I know it seems odd that once fired would split, but it does happen. If it was winchester stuff, Id send it back with case lot # and get a voucher for money off my next purchase, but, they arent makin 450 brass yet.
Mike

Postby Siringo » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:31 pm

TT -- splitting cases indeed would be very rare and odd with this caliber. Pressures are just not up there enough -- . Are you sure they go all the way thru the case wall or are they deep scratches. Can you take a pic and post it?