Dirty brass???

AR15, AK47, FAL, Bolt, Hangun, etc... If I find we need it I will expand this forum.

Moderator: MudBug

Dirty brass???

Postby Texican Hairless » Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:42 pm

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the 450B and one thing I noticed right away when shooting Hornady factory rounds was the brass was coming out awfully dirty. It makes me think that the brass isn't making a nice seal against the chamber wall. Has anyone else had this occur?
Texican Hairless

Re: Dirty brass???

Postby Hoot » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:17 pm

Texican Hairless wrote:Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the 450B and one thing I noticed right away when shooting Hornady factory rounds was the brass was coming out awfully dirty. It makes me think that the brass isn't making a nice seal against the chamber wall. Has anyone else had this occur?

Sooting to one degree or another is a common characteristic of this cartridge. You are correct about it not sealing adequately. My experience reloading has been the there is a fine line between when they finally do seal and when they encounter too much pressure. I'd say some of that is attributable to how tight your chamber fit is also. No two of them turn out precisely the same, though within tolerances. I'd guess that about 75% or more of my successful loads don't seal real well and 25% do. I have not seen a tie in to their performance though. I've had some awful shooters seal beautifully and vice versa. Don't let it trouble you as long as the functionality is otherwise what you are looking for. To pass the time while my barrel cools on warmer days, I'll sometimes keep a paper towel with me and wipe off the empties before returning them to my cartridge box. I figure that's less crud to get into my tumbling media.

Hoot
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot

Postby Texican Hairless » Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:58 am