Swelled, or "bulged" cases

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

Swelled, or "bulged" cases

Postby dogsniper » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:10 am

Okay, so I have been reloading for various revolver and rifle loads for many years, and have heard of getting bulged cases if pressures are high, or the brass is weak. I had never had this happen, until....

I deer hunt with a Ruger Blackhawk in a 45LC. I have loaded this relatively hot with load data from Hodgdon using Hornady's 250grain bullet. I have NEVER had any issues with this load in this revolver. However, I added to my collection several years ago an H&R Buffalo Classic in 45LC. This rifle shoots my 255grain Lead RNFP great. But when I feed it my hunting loads...well, the cases just do not want to come out of the barrel! They swell to the point that the extractor actually scratches the brass as I have to PULL the case out of the barrel.

My question is...since I have no other signs of pressure (i.e. no damage to primer or head stamp) and my revolver shoots these loads with no problem, do we think the pressure is high? Or do we think the chamber dimensions may be off??

Any help would be great. Thanks!
It's not the size of the Dog in the Fight that matters....It's the amount of Fight in the Dog!
dogsniper

Re: Swelled, or "bulged" cases

Postby Hoot » Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:20 pm

When you resize the rifle brass for reloading, how does the resistance to the sizing die compare to when resizing for the revolver? Otherwise, break out the cerrosafe.

Hoot
In Theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In Practice, there is.
Hoot

Postby dogsniper » Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:22 pm

Hoot,

I have not resized any of the casings fired from the rifle. I wasn't sure if the bulge would cause a weak spot, so I just left those pieces alone. From looking at them I can only "assume" that they will be more resistant thru the sizing die, as the bulge is visually very noticeable.