Case cleaning

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

Case cleaning

Postby Mdt1992 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:01 pm

Started reloading 4 years ago and cleaned all my cases with a cheap tumbler in crushed walnut shells well after those a 4 years and thousands of handgun and rifle cases my tumbler has begun to bite the dust, it ran for about a half an hour with 20 .450 cases last night before it went from running full Speed to barley going. So my question is what do you all clean your brass with. Is stainless steel tumbling worth it?

Thanks,
Matt
Mdt1992

Re: Case cleaning

Postby lungingturtle2 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:43 pm

I've been reloading for over 50 yrs., in almost all that time I've used corncob and crushed walnut shells W/mild abrasive in a tumblers tumbler model B with good results. ( I thought ) Last year I started using stainless pin media with water, Lemi-shine, and dawn dish washing liquid. I've never seen such clean cases, inside and out, and primer pockets are clean as new. Its a little more trouble but the results speak for themselves. I'll never go back.
lungingturtle2

Postby Hopalong » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:31 am

Lemi-shine? Which version? I've been doing some ultrasonic cleaning and it may be worth trying that in my cleaner.

Here's a link to info on ultrasonic cleaning. I've had good luck with it as long as I don't try to do too many cases.

http://www.accurateshooter.com/technica ... -cleaning/
Hopalong

Postby lungingturtle2 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:46 pm

I'm using LemiShine HD in my tumbler, just a tablespoon or two, I always rinse with hot water, you can google LemiShine for info on their products. I found it at my local Walmart. Good luck.
lungingturtle2

Postby Hopalong » Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:32 pm

Lemi-shine detergent or machine cleaner or?

Thanks.
Hopalong

Postby lungingturtle2 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:16 pm

It's dishwasher rinse.
lungingturtle2

Postby paulmark3010 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:06 pm