Bullet Jump

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

Bullet Jump

Postby Avenger10 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:47 am

Hello all-

I guess I'm the newest newbie here... but I been reading you guys for a while.

To the point. I have started shooting my new 450 BM and immediately notice that the bullets jump .018-.024 out of the case when I close the bolt with full battery. As I am shooting factory Hornady ammo I spent a dime and had me a conversation with a nice young gentleman goes by the name of Seth out at the Hornady factory. After explaining my observation he looked up the push/pull data from my ammunition lot number and verified that they were within spec for that production run. He said they would like me to return some samples for them to dissect.

Then the stupidity part of our conversation... he spoke with one of the ballistic engineers who told him my rifle probably has an excessive head space problem and the extra couple of thousandths is allowing the added inertia to lunge the bullet forward when the case mouth meets the end of the chamber. Now I'm not a genius but I did sleep at a holiday inn express last night and I believe that the case mouth always meets the end of the chamber with authority when we close the bolt on our rimless, shoulderless AR platform cartridges.

You guys having the same experience?
BRENTON USA | LONG-LOAD
www.brentonusa.com
Avenger10

Re: Bullet Jump

Postby Hoot » Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:17 am