Subsonic loads

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

Subsonic loads

Postby Cutright » Mon Jan 11, 2016 9:39 pm

I am new to this so sorry for the stupid questions, but what is the purpose of the subsonic "craze"? I understand that they are quieter, but what are the other reasons, if any?
Cutright

Re: Subsonic loads

Postby Al in Mi » Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:18 am

Craze might sum it up best with cans being legal in a lot of states now. I guess there could be some merit for hunting purposes where legal.

For me, I'm a full throttle, balls to the wall, looking for more guy!! :o
Al in Mi

Postby Colohunter » Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:08 pm

It depends on the context, but I would say it is typically for suppressor use, as mentioned above. I don't have a 45 caliber suppressor, but if I did, a subsonic load would be very quiet.

Using a 22 caliber suppressor, there is a big difference in using subsonic vs supersonic ammo. That was one of the original ideas behind the 300 Whisper, which is what the 300 Blackout was based on. It lets you shoot heavy, high B.C. bullets, at subsonic velocities.
Colohunter

Postby kobraken » Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:39 pm

I have been working on a subsonic load for a few weeks and I've almost got it fine tuned.
The benefits are:
Recoil reduction, it's worth it just for that reason alone.
Flash reduction, I hog hunt and if you've ever shot a 450 in the dark you'll understand
Sound reduction, that's just a bonus.
Here piggy,piggy,piggy, I got something for you.
kobraken

Postby Hoot » Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:35 pm

kobraken wrote:I have been working on a subsonic load for a few weeks and I've almost got it fine tuned.
The benefits are:
Recoil reduction, it's worth it just for that reason alone.
Flash reduction, I hog hunt and if you've ever shot a 450 in the dark you'll understand
Sound reduction, that's just a bonus.