Has this been done yet?

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

Has this been done yet?

Postby Stealthshooter » Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:38 am

I got a little curious today........I took one of my 300WSM cases and cut it off at the taper. These are the results I come up with. It seems like a very possible idea to me.

Stealthshooter

Re: Has this been done yet?

Postby Larrys1911 » Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:42 am

Im not an engineer but I think the 450 is at the max for case rim/head dimensions in a standard bolt AR wise.

So if its the same size or smaller than the 450 yea its probably doable.

Larry
Larrys1911

Postby Stealthshooter » Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:51 am

Olympic arms and dtech offer chambers based off of the wssm. I assume they have the same rim diameter as the wsm.
Stealthshooter

Postby Texas Sheepdawg » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:39 pm

I would bet that Wildcatter is the grand Puba on this question.
It looks like a Beowuff case at first glance. I would drop it one step more and make it
A shouldered case, necking it down to .452 or .410.
-Texas Sheepdawg

http://youtube.com/c/TexasSheepdawg21
NRA Life Member
Texas Sheepdawg

Postby Stealthshooter » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:11 pm

I thought about necking it down but I have been wanting to build a 50 Cal.
Stealthshooter

Postby Al in Mi » Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:49 pm

you will need a OLY WSSM upper and bolt to make it work in a AR15 platform (bigger bolthead and reciever extension). I know a guy in Wisconsin who has built a couple like your looking to do for .500 bullets, and she shoots sweet.

I'm working on something simular for a AR10 platform, but using a full size RUM case cut back for a .500 pill. Have everything but the time to get it rolling. Catter didn't toss me out when I showed it to him, so maybe there is some merits to it!
Al in Mi

Postby Stealthshooter » Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:21 pm