Barnes Bullets

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

Barnes Bullets

Postby STXThumper » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:54 pm

Hey guys, somewhat of a newby here (although I've been lurking for about 6 months) with a question. To bring you up to speed I have a 16" Bushmaster .450 with Mega Machine billet lower, Magpul ACS stock, Ergo Sure Grip and Sig magazines. For optics I have a Leupold Ultimate Slam 3-9X40 and a Yukon 2.5X50 Night Vision scope (perfectly legal for hunting hogs at night in TX) with an additional 2.5X adapter and IR illuminator, both scopes mounted using Larue Tactical QD mounts.

Now for the question... I was wondering if anyone here had any loading info on or used the Barnes 250 grain .451 caliber muzzleloading bullets (Spit-Fire TMZ). I'm a big fan of the Barnes TSX bullets and would like something comparable for my "Thumper". I figured this would be a good choice since they seem similar to the Hornady factory loads (polymer tipped, 250 gr, muzzleloader bullets, etc.) and still have the same qualities I'm looking for from Barnes bullets.

I've already contacted Barnes and here's what they have to say:

Hello,

Our .451 muzzleloader bullets work great in the 450 Bushmaster. We have had customers experiment with great results. The only bad thing is that we don’t yet have any load data. We are planning on shooting some, but it could be 6 months or more before we can squeeze it in. We will get it done as soon as we can. Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,
Ryan Keele | Tech Support/Customer Service

Barnes Bullets, LLC

I've tried doing a search on the forum for similar threads but didn't find any. I apologize if there are, though. I love the forum so far and want to thank everyone for all the valuable info. As soon as I can I'll get photos posted of my setup. Again, any information is welcomed and appreciated.

STXThumper
STXThumper

Re: Barnes Bullets

Postby MudBug » Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:31 am