swift a frame

General Reloading Discussion.

Moderator: MudBug

swift a frame

Postby bobbypanterror » Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:58 pm

just curious as noone is loading these beastly JHP's ?

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?p ... ber=555362

think the 325gr swift a frame might be one of the best hunting bullets availabe for the 450 IMO, or it should be given its rep for performance
bobbypanterror

Re: swift a frame

Postby bushmeister » Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:32 am

Might be because they cost twice as much?
bushmeister

Postby Mike » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:17 pm

Could you quantify why you think it would be good?

Now, if it weighed a lot less and could be pushed a lot faster an "AFrame" might be in order.

I dont know if a bullet over 300 grains is going fast enough to come apart enough to limit penetration.

What did you plan on shooting with them?
Mike

Postby thebrassnuckles » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:02 am

I'm no expert, and I didn't sleep at a holiday in last night, but the factory offerings for the 450 are 275 grains and they are cooking along at around 2200 fps (if I recall correctly). I am assuming this bullet, since it is a .452 bullet, is designed to expand at a much lower velocity than a rifle bullet and judging by the shape of the nose it's not designed to move as fast as our 450 can send it. It should be difficult to load it slow enough to not expand. Anyways, who needs expansion when you are chucking rock downrange that weigh 300 grains?

If I had the funds and the time and space I might have to checksome of these out.
thebrassnuckles

Postby Al in Mi » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:21 am

they make a 265 and 300gr version also, front core is bonded, hollow point is huge, they will expand and penetrate.

I have a sectional of one someplace, I'll snap a pic when I find it.
Al in Mi

Postby wildcatter » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:05 am